Page iii

Statutes of the Realm: Volume 7, 1695-1701. Originally published by Great Britain Record Commission, s.l, 1820.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



The Seventh Volume Of The Statutes Of The Realm contains the Statutes from the Commencement of the Seventh and Eighth Years of the Reign of King William the Third, A. D. 1695–6, to the End of the Reign of the same King, A. D. 1701.

The Attention that has hitherto been paid to the Principles referred to in the Preface to the Fifth Volume of the Statutes of the Realm, has not in any Degree been relaxed in the Progress of the ensuing Volume; indeed the Consideration that is due to the High Authority under which this great National Work is prepared, cannot fail to command the closest Adherence to those Principles; to enlarge upon them in this Place is therefore unnecessary.

Two Engravings, the One of the Act for continuing the Imprisonment of Counter and others, for the Conspiracy to assassinate the Person of His Sacred Majesty, and the other for the Attainder of the pretended Prince of Wales for High Treason, are inserted respectively at Pages 300 and 739 of this Volume.

London, March 1820.

John Raithby, Sub-Commissioner.