Members of the Survey Committee

Survey of London: Volume 4, Chelsea, Pt II. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1913.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

'Members of the Survey Committee', in Survey of London: Volume 4, Chelsea, Pt II, (London, 1913) pp. v-vii. British History Online [accessed 24 April 2024]


The Former Presidents of the Committee were—



Honorary Members and Subscribers.
The Rt. Hon. Lord Aberdare.
The Board of Agriculture.
W. C. Alexander.
Mrs. A. A. Allen.
Mrs. J. W. Allen.
Sir Robert Allison.
William Sumner Appleton.
The Royal Institute of British Architects.
The Architectural Association.
The Society of Antiquaries, London.
The Society of Architects.
John Avery.
Samuel P. Avery.
E. Burrell Baggallay.
George P. Bankart.
E. J. Barron, F.S.A.
B. T. Batsford.
Boylston A. Beal.
A. E. Bernays.
The Hon. F. T. R. Bigham.
Mrs. Percy Bigland.
H. W. Birks.
The Birmingham Public Library.
The Bishopsgate Institute.
Madame Blumenthal.
Reginald Blunt.
Noel P. W. Brady.
Cecil C. Brewer, F.R.I.B.A.
John Briggs.
W. Brindley.
E. W. Brooks.
A. Hervé Browning.
Michael Bunney, A.R.I.B.A.
Mrs. Cadic.
Mrs. James Carew.
The Worshipful Company of Carpenters.
Miss A. G. E. Carthew.
W. H. Chaplin.
The Chelsea Association.
A. W. Clarke.
R. C. L. Clarke.
The Columbia University.
E. C. Colquhoun.
The Constitutional Club.
William W. Cordingley.
The Rt. Hon. Lord Courtney of Penwith.
Walter Crane.
The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Crawford, F.S.A.
The Croydon Public Library.
C. J. T. Dadd.
G. H. Dawkins.
C. J. Crosbie Dawson.
Mrs. Domenichetti.
George H. Duckworth.
The Board of Education.
Hugh Elliott.
H. L. Etherington Smith.
Mrs. Charles Fewster.
Owen Fleming, A.R.I.B.A.
Mrs. Wickham Flower.
Miss Forbes.
T. Mackenzie Fowler.
Sir George Frampton, R.A., F.S.A.
Rev. Prebendary Fraser, M.A.
Miss Agnes Garrett.
W. W. Gibbins.
Mrs. Walter Godfrey.
Sir Rickman Godlee, Bt.
Albert Gray, K.C.
Miss I. I. Greaves.
Maj.-Gen. Sir Coleridge Grove, K.C.B.
W. H. Grove.
The Guildhall Library.
Miss M. Z. Hadwen.
Richard Walden Hale.
E. T. Hall, F.R.I.B.A.
Mrs. Henry Hankey.
W. H. Harrison.
David Hills.
S. J. G. Hoare.
R. R. Hodgson.
V. T. Hodgson.
J. J. Holdsworth.
Miss Dorothea Hollins.
Charles H. Hopwood.
C. H. St. J. Hornby.
E. J. Horniman.
The Rev. R. Hudson.
Mrs. Alfred Huth.
Miss Huth.
Edward Huth.
Douglas Illingworth.
Miss Inderwick.
The Rt. Hon. The Viscount Iveagh, G.C.V.O., F.R.S.
Philip M. Johnston, F.S.A., F.R.I.B.A.
Alfred Jonas.
Alfred Jones.
C. H. F. Kinderman.
C. L. Kingsford.
Sir Hugh Percy Lane.
Miss E. M. Lang.
The Hon. Mrs. Herbert Lawrence.
G. C. Lawson.
W. R. Le Fanu.
Alfred Lesty.
Sir W. H. Lever, Bt., M.P.
H. W. Lewer.
Rafe Leycester.
Lady Lockyer.
Dr. G. B. Longstaff, F.S.A.
Mary, Countess of Lovelace.
William Macgregor.
The Manchester Public Library.
Mrs. Ellen Marshall.
Miss B.A. Meinertzhagen.
The Metropolitan Public Gardens Association.
G. E. Montagu.
G. Vaughan Morgan.
John Murray, F.R.I.B.A.
The New York Library.
F. H. Norman.
M. C. Norman.
R. C. Norman.
Lord Northbourne.
The Rev. J. P. Noyes.
Vere L. Oliver.
Dr. Pagenstecher.
Mrs. Penton.
F. W. Peters.
The Free Library of Philadelphia.
Mrs. W. Wilton Phipps.
The Hon. Sir William Pickford.
F. W. Platt.
The Rev. Manley Power.
Ambrose M. Poynter.
Sir E. J. Poynter, Bt., P.R.A., F.S.A.
James Prinsep.
F. W. Procter.
Collin E. Reader.
Public Record Office.
The Reform Club.
Mrs. F. L. W. Richardson.
Leopold L. de Rothschild.
Maj.-Gen. E. H. Sartorius, V.C., C.B.
Sir Bruce Maxwell Seton, Bt.
Sion College.
Walter K. Shirley.
Mrs. Vernon Smith.
A. G. Snelgrove.
W. J. Songhurst.
H. C. Sotheran.
Messrs. Stevens and Brown.
Walter L. Spiers.
F. B. Spooner.
Lord Alexander Thynne.
Mrs. H. B. Taylor.
The Rev. C. Torry.
The Rt. Hon. The Viscount Tredegar.
Hamilton H. Turner.
Aymer Vallance.
A. G. Warren.
Maurice E. Webb.
Mrs. Westlake.
The West Ham Public Library.
Mrs. Wharrie.
J. Barrington White.
J. Martin White.
Miss Wilbraham.
Miss M. J. Wilde.
James Williams.
Dr. George C. Williamson.
Walter Withall.
Gerald Yeo.
John E. Yerbury.
Keith D. Young, F.R.I.B. A
Active Members.
(fn. 1) C. R. Ashbee, M.A.
(fn. 1) A. H. Blake.
W. W. Braines.
(fn. 1) A. E. Bullock, A.R.I.B.A.
G. H. Chettle.
(fn. 1) A. W. Clapham.
George Clinch, F.S.A. (Scot.).
A. O. Collard, F.R.I.B.A.
Horace Dan.
F. T. Dear.
(fn. 1) H. W. Fincham.
(fn. 1) T. Oliphant Foster.
Matt Garbutt, F.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) Walter H. Godfrey.
Mrs. Ernest Godman.
T. Frank Green, A.R.I.B.A.
Edwin Gunn, A.R.I.B.A.
Osborn C. Hills, F.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) T. Gordon Jackson.
Max Judge.
(fn. 1) P. K. Kipps, A.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) G. H. Lovegrove.
Ernest A. Mann.
E. T. Marriott, M.A.
W. Monk, R.E.
(fn. 1) Cecil G. McDowell.
Sidney Newcombe.
E. C. Nisbet.
Andrew Oliver, A.R.I.B.A.
A. Wyatt Papworth, A.R.I.B.A.
Robert Pearsall.
John Queckett.
E. Railton.
John Ravenshaw.
(fn. 1) Francis W. Reader.
(fn. 1) Frederick J. Sawyer.
(fn. 1) Francis R. Taylor.
(fn. 1) G. Trotman.
(fn. 1) Miss E. M. B. Warren.
(fn. 1) W. A. Webb, A.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) A. P. Wire.
W. Wonnacott, A.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) Edward Yates.
E.L. Wratten, A.R.I.B.A.
(fn. 1) W. Plomer Young.
(fn. 1) Philip Norman, F.S.A., LL.D., Editor of the Committee.
E. L. Meinertzhagen, J.P., Treasurer of the Committee.
(fn. 1) Percy W. Lovell, B.A., A.R.I.B.A., Secretary of the Committee.


  • 1. Denotes those who have co-operated in the production of the present volume.