Pages vii-viii

Survey of London: Volume 41, Brompton. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1983.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.



The Council has received help from many quarters in the preparation of this volume, and the names of persons and institutions to whom it tenders its grateful thanks are listed below. Of individuals it is proper to mention especially Mr. Ian Anstruther and Mrs. Anstruther (Susan Walker) for their courtesy in giving access to the archives of the Alexander (Thurloe) estate and for their advice and information about its history; and Miss Dorothy Stroud, whose studies of that estate and of the Smith's Charity estate, augmented by her personal advice and comments, have been of the greatest help in the preparation of the work.

Among institutions and other bodies the Congregation of the London Oratory must be first named, for their patience in giving access to their archives and their building and in answering requests for information over a protracted term of years. The Servite Friars have also most kindly allowed access to their buildings and records. The description of Brompton Hospital was greatly facilitated by the help given to the Council's officers by Mr. J. R. Plant, Secretary to the Board of Governors, and other members of the staff of the Hospital, especially Brigadier H. R. W. Vernon, and Miss Varley. The history of Evelyn Gardens was much assisted by the kindness of Major A. E. Daw and Mr. C. J. P. Lindon, Chairman and Secretary of C. A. Daw and Son, Limited, in allowing the use of the firm's archives. Especial thanks should also be given to the Local Studies Department of Kensington Central Public Library and Mr. B. R. Curle and Mr. T. M. Egan for their great help to the work in continuation of that given in previous years.

It is a pleasure to acknowledge the assistance given by the following, in addition to those already mentioned: Mr. A. S. Alcock; Mr. F. D. Allen; Fr. Philip Allen, O.S.M.; Mr. Hugh Anderson; Mrs. Alison Anstead; Mrs. Inette Austin-Smith; Major D. H. Back; Rev. C. John G. Barton; Mr. David Beasley; Mr. P. J. Bishop; Prof. Sanborn C. Brown; Mr. Alban Caroe; Mr. Martin Caroe; the Right Rev. Patrick Casey; Sir Hugh Casson; Miss Louisa Chafee; Mr. Toby Cholmeley; Fr. Gerard M. Corr, O.S.M.; Mr. J. Cotter; Lord Craigmyle; Mr. F. Cranmer; Mr. Alan Crawford; Mr. Stephen Croad; Mr. S. E. Cronk; Rev. M. C. Crowdy; Mr. Christopher Da Costa; Commander John David; Rev. Gary Davies; Mr. Simon Day; Mr. James Dearden; the Very Rev. Charles Dilke; Mr. G. P. Dyer; Mr. G. Eke; Mr. Denis Evinson; Mrs. P. A. Fox; Mr. Andor Gomme; Miss M. Gooding; Mr. David Green; the Hon. C. J. G. Guest; Mr. N. C. Hall; Mr. H. M. Hambly; Mr. Roy Heron; Mr. E. R. C. Holland; Mr. Stratton Holland; Miss Diana Howard; Mr. Sidney Hutchison; Dr. A. H. Jenniskens; Mr. Paul Joyce; Rev. Manus P. Keane, S. J.; Mr. I. N. Kendal; Miss Jean M. Kennedy; Mr. J. M. Keyworth; Mr. Daniel Lamb; Mrs. Isabella Leland; Lady Logan; Mr. J. H. Love; Mr. A. C. McDougall; Mr. Edward MacParland; Mr. D. R. G. Marler; Mr. John Mason; Mr. Anthony Mauduit; Mr. J. W. Milliken; the Very Rev. M. S. Napier; Mrs. Rachel Nelson; Mr. M. K. Nield; His Grace the Duke of Norfolk; Mrs. Belinda Norman-Butler; Mr. A. G. Peake; Miss Fiona Pearson; Mr. A. R. Perry; Mr. C. Pettiward; Mr. P. C. Phillips; Mr. Harold Poupart; Mr. J. W. Prevett; Rev. Richard Price; the Lord Reilly; Mr. and Mrs. Julian Ridsdale; Mr. T. J. Rix; Miss Jane Roscoe; Lady Rose; the late Mr. Michael Ross-Wills; Mr. Frank Seton; Mr. L. A. Sheppard; Mr. P. L. Slight; Peter and Alison Smithson; Mr. I. H. Stewart; Mlle. N. Tassoul; Sir Peter Thorne; Madame Claude Trialle; Mr. J. R. Turner; Miss Alison Turton; Rev. R. Turvey; Mrs. C. Vivian; Mr. David M. Walker; Mr. Peter Watson; Mrs. Deborah Weiner; Miss Carol Wheeler; Mr. A. M. Wherry; Mr. James S. Wilson; Miss G. M. Wyatt; Miss I. Wynniatt-Husey.

The Armouries, H. M. Tower of London; Bank of England Museum and Historical Research Section; Bibliothèque Nationale, Paris; Bibliothèque Publique, Liege; Bibliothèque Royale Albert Ier Brussels; Bodleian Library; W. and F. C. Bonham and Sons Limited; British Library; British Telecom, Solicitor's Office; Broughton and Company; Carden, Godfrey, Macfadyen and Sturgis; Dartmouth College Library, New Hampshire; Ealing Borough Central Services and Records; Ealing Central Library; Eleusis Club; Farley and Company; Gemeentelijke Archiefdienst Maastricht; Goldsmiths' Company; Guildhall Library; Harrods Limited; Hedges and Butler Limited; Hereford Record Office; House of Fraser Limited; House of Lords Record Office; London Transport Plan Room; Margate Public Libraries; Museum of London; National Monuments Record; National Register of Archives; Norfolk Record Office; Post Office, London Postal Region, Building and Mechanisation Division; Post Office, Solicitor's Office; Public Record Office; Richmond Central Library, Surrey; Royal Institute of British Architects; Royal Marsden Hospital; Royal Mint; Frederick Sage Limited; Shepherd's Bush Library (Archives Section); Society of Australian Genealogists; South Australian Genealogy and Heraldry Society; South Carolina Historical Society; State Library of South Australia; Suffolk Record Office; Surrey Record Office; Unigate; Unigate Properties Limited; Westminster Public Libraries; Wightscot Photographers Limited; Winkworth and Company.

The Council also acknowledges with thanks the help received from other owners and occupiers who have allowed access to their buildings for inspection and measurement, and also the co-operation of those firms that have permitted the use of their scaffolding for the study of buildings under renovation.

Owners of photographs and other illustrations reproduced in this volume are acknowledged in the List of Plates.