Essex VCH committee

Page xvi

A History of the County of Essex: Volume 6. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1973.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



As at May 1973

Col. Sir John Ruggles-Brise, BT., C.B., O.B.E., T.D., J.P.
Her Majesty's Lieutenant
Lord Braybrooke, D.L., J.P. J. G. O'Leary Esq.
The Right Hon. Lord Butler, P.C., C.H. Lord Petre
F. G. Emmison Esq., M.B.E., D.U. (Essex) J. J. Tufnell Esq., J.P.
Chairman Vice-Chairman
W. Addison Esq., D.L., J.P. Brig. J. T. De H. Vaizey, C.B.E.
Representatives of the following Local Authorities
Greater London Boroughs
Barking Havering Newham Redbridge Waltham Forest
County Borough
Municipal Boroughs
Chelmsford Colchester Harwich Maldon Saffron Walden
Urban Districts
Basildon Benfleet Braintree and Bocking Brentwood
Burnham-on-Crouch Canvey Chigwell Clacton-on-Sea
Epping Frinton and Walton Halstead Harlow
Rayleigh Thurrock Waltham Holy Cross West Mersea
Witham Wivenhoe
Rural Districts
Braintree Chelmsford Dunmow Epping and Ongar
Halstead Lexden and Winstree Maldon Tendring
Rochford Saffron Walden
Representatives of the following Societies, etc.
Barking Historical Society Brentwood Historical Society
Chingford Historical Society Essex Archaeological Society
Essex Field Club Hornchurch Historical Society
Romford Historical Society Southend-on-Sea Historical Society
Thurrock Local History Society University of Essex
Waltham Abbey Historical Society Walthamstow Antiquarian Society
Woodford and District Historical Society
Co-opted Members
J. Bensusan-Butt Esq. Councillor J. L. M. Crofton, E.C.C. Marc Fitch Esq.† S. M. Jarvis Esq.
K. J. Lace Esq. W. H. Liddell Esq.† K. C. Newton Esq.† F. Sainsbury Esq., B.E.M.†
Editorial Committee
W. Addison Esq., D.L., J.P. (Chairman) G. L. Caunt Esq., O.B.E. Mrs. G. A. Ward
together with the persons marked by a dagger.
Hon. County Secretary and Treasurer: D. L. Forbes Esq., J.P. †
Hon. Assistant Secretary: K. H. Sleat Esq. † Hon. Auditor: S. Ward Esq.
General Editor: Professor R. B. Pugh, D.Lit. †
County Editor: W. R. Powell Esq. †