House of Commons Journal Volume 8: 2 December 1661

Page 323

Journal of the House of Commons: Volume 8, 1660-1667. Originally published by His Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1802.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Page 323

In this section

Lunæ, 2 die Decembris, 18° Car. Regis.


Importing Madder.

ORDERED, That these Persons following be added to the Committee to which the Bill for Madder is committed; Colonel Sandys, Mr. Samuell Sandys, Mr. Clifford Clifton, Mr. Tomkins, Sir Rowland Berkeley, Sir John Packington, Mr. Westsaling, Mr. Newport.

Etherick's Estate.

A Bill to enable Anthony Etherick to sell Lands for Payment of his Debts, was this Day read the Second time.

Resolved, upon the Question, That the said Bill be committed to Sir Ralph Bancks, Mr. Smith, Sir Rich. Franklyn, Mr.Winston Churchill, Sir Wm. Lewis, Sir George Ryve, Mr. Pitt, Sir Rich. Pole, Mr. Culleford, Mr. Sandys, Mr. Collins, Mr. Bullen Reymes, Lord Fanshaw, Sir Anthony Cope, Mr. Mallett, Sir Lancelott Lake, Sir Robert Atkins, Mr. Whittaker, Sir John Lowe, Sir Baynam Throgmorton, Mr. Harvey, Mr. Stafford, Lord Ancram, Sir Solomon Swale, Sir Henry Lee, Sir Tho. Leigh, Serjeant Maynard, Mr. Fane, Lord Buckhurst: And all the Members of this House that serve for the County of Dorsett: And they are to meet in the Exchequer Chamber, at Two of the Clock this Afternoon: And to send for Persons, Papers, and Records.

Norwich Stuffs.

A Bill for Regulating the making of Stuffs in Norwich and Norfolke, was this Day read the Second time.

Resolved, upon the Question, That the same be committed to Lord Richardson, Mr. Comptroller, Mr. Smith, Sir Robert Atkins, Sir Thomas Leigh, Sir Lancelott Lake, Sir George Reeve, Sir William Doyley, Mr. Steward, Mr. Pryn, Mr. Knight, Sir John Goodrick, Mr. Jay, Sir Solomon Swale, Sir Richard Maleverer, Lord Bruce, Sir Richard Okeley, Sir Richard Ford, Mr. Jolliffe, Sir Thomas Bludworth Alderman Fowke, Mr. Culleford, Mr. King, Mr. Chetwind, Mr. Finch, Sir Henry Bennett, Sir Nicholas *, Lord Fanshaw, Mr. Heath, Mr. Gawdy, Sir Bayn. Throckmorion, Mr. Clifford, Sir Henry North, Sir John Rouse, Mr. Street, Mr. Cory, Sir Anth. Irby, Sir James Smith, Mr. Goodricke, Sir Phillip Musgrave, Sir John Denham, Sir William Fleetwood, Sir John Shaw, Sir John Duncombe, Sir John Robinson, Mr. John Jones, Sir Nicholas Crispe, Mr. Rigby, Sir Charles Harbord, Sir John Brampston, Mr. Clifford Cliffton, Mr. Whorwood, Mr. Spry, Mr. Churchill, and all the Members that serve for the Counties of Norfolke, Suffolke, and Essex: And they are to meet in the Exchequer Chamber, at Two of the Clock in the Afternoon: And to send for Persons, Papers, and Records: And his Majesty's Counsel, and those which are concerned in the Bill for Aulnage, are to be heard at the said Committee.

Great Level of Fens.

The Counsel of the Old and New Adventurers, and of the Country, and any other Persons who are concerned, or claim any Interest, in the Great Level of the Fens called Bedford Level, or are prejudiced thereby, being this Day to be heard at the Bar, according to an Order of this House, made the 12th of July last;

And the Counsel of all the said Parties being this Day accordingly heard, at the Bar of this House;

Resolved, upon the Question, That the Debate of this Matter be adjourned; and resumed on This-day-sevennight: At which Time, this House will take into Consideration the Law or St. Ives, Lynn Law, Peterborough Law, Huntington Law, the Fourteenth Part Indenture, the Rump Act in 1649, and some of the Deeds of Purchase made since that Time; to the which End they are then to be produced: And, upon Consideration thereupon had, this House will take such Order herein, as shall be meet.

And then this House adjourned till To-morrow Morning, at Eight of the Clock.