Prebendaries of St Asaph: Introduction

Pages 39-40

Fasti Ecclesiae Anglicanae 1066-1300: Volume 9, the Welsh Cathedrals (Bangor, Llandaff, St Asaph, St Davids). Originally published by Institute of Historical Research, London, 2003.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



Bp. Llywelyn's statute of 12 Apr. 1295 (Willis, St Asaph II 74-6) mentions, in addition to the deanery and the archdcnry., the six prebs. of Faenol, Llanfair I and II, Llannefydd, Meifod, and Meliden (below, lists 27-32). Faenol was annexed to the precentory, Llannefydd to the chancellery, and Meliden to the treasury. The Taxatio of 1291 lists the prebs. of the dean and archdcn., and names the holders of twelve other prebs., of which Faenol, Llanfair I and II and Meliden are identified (Taxatio p. 288a-b). (fn. 1) Six prebs. seem to have been bursarial (later called 'cursal') rather than territorial (list 33). See Pearson 'St Asaph chapter'.


  • 1. Additionally, five priests who were minor cans., holding portions at Gwyddelwern, Taxatio p. 288b.