List of Commissioners

Page xiv

An Inventory of the Historical Monuments in City of York, Volume 4, Outside the City Walls East of the Ouse. Originally published by Her Majesty's Stationery Office, London, 1975.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.



The Right Honourable The Lord Adeane, p.c., g.c.b., g.c.v.o. (Chairman)

Her Majesty's Lieutenant in the City of York and the West Riding (ex officio)

Henry Clifford Darby, Esq., O.B.E.

Courtenay Arthur Ralegh Radford, Esq.

Sir John Newenham Summerson, C.B.E.

Howard Montagu Colvin, Esq., C.B.E.

William Abel Pantin, Esq.

Arnold Joseph Taylor, Esq., C.B.E.

William Francis Grimes, Esq., C.B.E.

Maurice Willmore Barley, Esq.

Sheppard Sunderland Frere, Esq.

Richard John Copland Atkinson, Esq.

Sir John Betjeman, C.B.E.

John Nowell Linton Myres, Esq.

Harold McCarter Taylor, Esq., C.B.E.

George Zarnecki, Esq., C.B.E.

John Kenneth Sinclair St. Joseph, Esq., O.B.E.


Robert William McDowall, Esq., O.B.E.