Survey of London: Volume 6, Hammersmith. Originally published by London County Council, London, 1915.
This free content was digitised by double rekeying and sponsored by English Heritage. All rights reserved.
LIII.—THE RED COW, No. 157 HAMMERSMITH ROAD (Rebuilt)
General description and date of structure.
The old Red Cow Inn, which has recently given place to a new structure, was a picturesque building, formerly two cottages, standing on the south side of Hammersmith Road at the corner of Cow Lane (now Colet Gardens). The western cottage had two deep bay-windows, round which the eaves-cornice was taken, and two dormer windows in its steep tiled roof. The eastern cottage also had a bay-window on the ground floor, only with a doorway in the centre. An entry in the Court Rolls of the Manor (the only one that has so far come to light) takes the inn back to 1768, when William Tyson surrenders to Nathaniel Tyson, who in turn surrenders the property to Matthew Graves. It is described therein as "a cottage called the Red Cow (formerly 2 tenements) . . . formerly in the occupation of Anne Bryant and now of Edward Huddle."
A water-colour sketch (Plate 115) made by Mr. Philip Norman in 1897 gives a faithful impression of the old building. The inn was a favourite of Charles Keene the artist.
Old prints, drawings, etc.
Water-colour drawing by J. T. Wilson in the Coates Collection.
(fn. 1) Water-colour drawing by Mr. Philip Norman (1897).