Parishes: Sockburn

Page 343

A History of the County of Durham: Volume 3. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1928.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



Soccabyrig, Sochasburgh (viii cent.); Socceburg (xii cent.); Socceburn (xiii cent.).

The parish of Sockburn includes the three townships of Sockburn, Girsby and Over Dinsdale, which cover altogether 2,757 acres. Of these the first is entirely in the county of Durham, the other two are in the wapentake of Allerton in the county of York.

For an account of the whole parish see The Victoria History of the County of York, North Riding, vol. i, pp. 449 to 454.