Essex Victoria County History committee

Page xv

A History of the County of Essex: Volume 9, the Borough of Colchester. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1994.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



As at 1 January 1994


The Lord Braybrooke, J.P. Lord Lieutenant of Essex


Col. Sir John Ruggles-Brise, BT., C.B., O.B.E., T.D., J.P. G. J. Clements Esq., F.S.A. F. G. Emmison Esq., M.B.E., F.S.A., D.U. M. F. B. Fitch Esq., C.B.E., D. LITT., F.B.A. D. L. Forbes Esq., J.P. W. R. Powell Esq., M.A., M. LITT., F.S.A.

F. Sainsbury, Esq., B.E.M.

The Lord Petre, D.L.

The following representatives of the contributing Local Authorities

Councillor P. Bolger, Councillor E. W. Crunden, Councillor D. F. Rex, G. Hare Esq. (Essex County Council)

Councillor Miss K. A. Golden, Councillor T. M. Bird, A. Hill Esq. (London Borough of Barking and Dagenham)

Councillor C. W. Purnell, Councillor Miss L. R. Hawthorn, G. Saddington Esq. (London Borough of Havering)

Councillor R. Manley, Councillor I. Corbett, R. McMaster Esq. (London Borough of Newham)

Councillor H. W. Moth, Councillor T. F. Cobb, M. Timms Esq. (London Borough of Redbridge)

Councillor N. S. Matharoo, C. Richardson, Esq. (London Borough of Waltham Forest)

Representatives of the following Local Authorities within Essex

Basildon, Braintree, Brentwood, Castle Point, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping Forest, Harlow, Maldon, Tendring, Thurrock, Uttlesford

Representatives of the following Bodies

Barking Historical Society

Essex Archaeological and Historical Congress

Hornchurch Historical Society

Thurrock Historical Society

Woodford Historical Society

Brentwood Historical Society

Essex Society for Archaeology and History

Romford Historical Society

Waltham Abbey Historical Society

University of Essex

Co-opted Members

C. Attenborough Esq. J. H. Boyes Esq. Miss N. R. Briggs D. G. Buckley Esq., County Archaeological Officer K. Hall Esq., County Archivist Mrs. M. S. Preston Mrs. P. V. Wawn R. G. E. Wood Esq.


Hon. County Secretary: W. H. Liddell Esq.

Hon. County Treasurer: G. Hare Esq.

Hon. Assistant Secretary: G. Saddington Esq.

Hon. Auditor: K. S. Platt Esq.

General Editor: Professor C. R. Elrington

County Editor: Dr. J. M. Cooper