A History of the County of Leicestershire: Volume 2

Edited by W G Hoskins and R A McKinley. A part-volume, detailing the history of the religious houses of the county.

Victoria County History - Leicestershire. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1954.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


Table of contents

Title Page(s)
Editorial note xiii-xiv
List of public records used xvii
Note on abbreviations xvii
RELIGIOUS HOUSES: Introduction 1-2
House of Benedictine nuns: The priory of Langley 3-5
House of Cistercian monks: The abbey of Garendon 5-7
Houses of Augustinian canons: The priory of Breedon 8-10
Houses of Augustinian canons: The priory of Launde 10-13
Houses of Augustinian canons: Leicester abbey 13-19
Houses of Augustinian canons: The priory of Ulverscroft 19-21
Houses of Augustinian canons: The abbey of Owston 21-23
Houses of Augustinian canons: The priory of Charley 23-24
Houses of Augustinian canons: The priory of Bradley 24-25
Houses of Augustinian canons: Kirkby Bellairs 25-26
House of Augustinian nuns: The priory of Grace Dieu 27-28
House of Premonstratensian canons: The abbey of Croxton Kerrial 28-31
House of Knights Templar: Preceptory of Rothley 31-32
House of Knights Hospitallers: Preceptory of Dalby and Heather 32-33
Friaries: Friaries in Leicester 33-35
Hospitals: Burton Lazars 36-39
Hospitals: Castle Donington 39-40
Hospitals: St John the Baptist & St John the Evangelist, Leicester 40-41
Hospitals: St Leonard, Leicester 41-42
Hospitals: Lutterworth 42-44
Hospitals: St Mary Magdalene, St Margaret & St Edmund, Leicester 44-45
Hospitals: St Bartholomew, Leicester 45
Hospitals: Loughborough 45
Hospitals: Stockerston 45
Colleges: St Mary de Castro 45-46
Colleges: Noseley 46-48
Colleges: College of the Annunciation of St Mary in the Newarke, Leicester 48-51
Colleges: Sapcote 51-52
Alien house: Priory of Hinckley 52-53
Post-Dissolution house: Cistercian abbey of Mount Saint Bernard 53-54