Editorial note

Page xiii

A History of the County of Wiltshire: Volume 8, Warminster, Westbury and Whorwellsdown Hundreds. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1965.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



The present volume, the eighth in the Wiltshire series to be published, has been prepared like the previous ones under the superintendence of the Wiltshire Victoria County History Committee. That Committee, whose origin and constitution are described in the Editorial Note to the Victoria History of Wiltshire, Volume VII, has been good enough to continue, and indeed, to enlarge its generous grant for the support of a local editor and an assistant editor, and the University of London has thus been enabled to continue publication. The University takes pleasure in renewing its gratitude to the participating Authorities in Wiltshire for their friendly co-operation. It has to be recorded here that in May 1964 Mr. K. H. Rogers resigned from the assistant editorship, and was replaced in October 1964 by Mr. Colin Shrimpton.

Thanks are due to many persons who have helped in the compilation of the volume either by granting access to documents in their care or ownership, by examining drafts, or by offering advice. Particular mention must be made of the Clerks of the Urban District Councils of Warminster and Westbury, the Marquess of Bath and his Comptroller, Mr. R. A. Ingleton, the Earl of Pembroke and Montgomery, C.V.O., Viscount Long of Wraxall, Mr. M. G. Rathbone (County Archivist), Mr. R. E. Sandell (Hon. Librarian, Wiltshire Archaeological and Natural History Society), and Mr. Harry Ross. The late Miss D. U. Seth-Smith and the late Miss I. M. Braidwood gave much valuable help by answering questions and reading drafts. Finally it must be recorded that preliminary drafts for the accounts of the parishes in the Hundred of Whorwellsdown were, with one exception, written by Mr. W. R. Powell.