Victoria County History - Surrey

Founded in 1899 and originally dedicated to Queen Victoria, the Victoria County History (VCH) is an encyclopaedic record of England's places and people from earliest times to the present day. It has been described as the greatest publishing project in English local history. This series describes the history of the county of Surrey - do also see the VCH Surrey page on the IHR website for more information.


Displaying 1 - 3 of 3
A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 3
Covers the south and west of the historic county, from Godalming hundred in the south to Kingston-upon-Thames in the north, now part of Greater London. Also includes accounts of (amongst others) Dorking, Guildford, Reigate and Walton on Thames.
A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4
Covers the areas in the north and east of the county, including much of what is now south London. Areas covered include Southwark, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Merton and Sutton, as well as the part of the east of the historic county not now within Greater London, around Oxted, Caterham and Lingfield.
Displaying 1 - 3 of 3