A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4

Covers the areas in the north and east of the county, including much of what is now south London. Areas covered include Southwark, Lambeth, Wandsworth, Merton and Sutton, as well as the part of the east of the historic county not now within Greater London, around Oxted, Caterham and Lingfield.

Victoria County History - Surrey.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved .


'A History of the County of Surrey', in A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4, (London, 1912). British History Online https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/surrey/vol4 [accessed 16 June 2024].

"A History of the County of Surrey", in A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4, (London, 1912). British History Online, accessed June 16, 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/surrey/vol4.

"A History of the County of Surrey", in A History of the County of Surrey: Volume 4, (London, 1912), British History Online. Web. 16 June 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/surrey/vol4.

Table of Contents

Title Page(s)
List of maps xv
Editorial note xvii
The hundred of Brixton: Introduction and map 1-2
Parishes: Barnes 3-8
Parishes: Battersea with Penge 8-17
Parishes: Bermondsey 17-24
Parishes: Camberwell 24-36
Parishes: Clapham 36-41
Parishes: Hatcham (Parish of Deptford St Paul) 42-44
Lambeth: Introduction and Lambeth Palace 44-50
Lambeth: The parish 50-64
Parishes: Merton 64-68
Parishes: Mortlake 69-74
Parishes: Newington 74-77
Parishes: Putney 78-83
Parishes: Rotherhithe 83-92
Parishes: Streatham 92-102
Parishes: Tooting Graveney 102-107
Parishes: Wandsworth 108-120
Parishes: Wimbledon 120-125
The borough of Southwark: Introduction 125-135
The borough of Southwark: Borough 135-141
The borough of Southwark: Manors 141-151
The borough of Southwark: Churches 151-161
The borough of Southwark: Charities 161-162
The hundred of Wallington: Introduction and map 163
Parishes: Addington 164-168
Parishes: Beddington 168-178
Parishes: Carshalton 178-188
Parishes: Chaldon 188-194
Parishes: Cheam 194-199
Parishes: Coulsdon 199-205
Croydon: Introduction and Croydon Palace 205-217
Croydon: Borough, manors, churches and charities 217-228
Parishes: Mitcham 229-234
Parishes: Morden 235-237
Parishes: Sanderstead 237-243
Parishes: Sutton 243-246
Parishes: Woodmansterne 246-250
The hundred of Tandridge: Introduction and map 251-252
Parishes: Blechingley 253-265
Parishes: Caterham 265-270
Parishes: Chelsham 270-274
Parishes: Crowhurst 274-281
Parishes: Farley 281-283
Parishes: Godstone 283-291
Parishes: Horne 291-296
Parishes: Limpsfield 297-302
Parishes: Lingfield 302-311
Parishes: Oxted 312-321
Parishes: Tandridge 321-326
Parishes: Tatsfield 326-330
Parishes: Titsey 330-334
Parishes: Warlingham 334-338
Parishes: Woldingham 339-341