Victoria County History - Yorkshire

Founded in 1899 and originally dedicated to Queen Victoria, the Victoria County History (VCH) is an encyclopaedic record of England's places and people from earliest times to the present day. It has been described as the greatest publishing project in English local history. This series describes the history of the county of Yorkshire - do also see the VCH Yorkshire page on the IHR website for more information.


Displaying 1 - 8 of 8
A History of the County of York: Volume 3
A part volume from the VCH, dealing with religious houses in the County of York, including York and Beverley minsters, and the prominent Cistercian houses Rievaulx and Fountains.
A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2
Describes five wapentakes, mainly in the north and east of the North Riding. It includes accounts of the borough of Scarborough and the liberty of Whitby, as well as the North Yorkshire moors and parts of Cleveland.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8