Editorial note

Page xiii

A History of the County of Oxford: Volume 11, Wootton Hundred (Northern Part). Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1983.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.



The arrangements described in the Editorial Note to Volume IX of the History of Oxfordshire have continued with only minor modifications, and the University of London, for which the Victoria County History is published, again records its thanks to the Oxfordshire County Council for the generosity with which it has met the costs of compilation, aided by important contributions from the University of Oxford. The General Introduction to the History, published in 1970, outlines the structure and aims of the series as a whole. In Oxfordshire the work is under the supervision of an Advisory Sub-Committee of the County Council's Libraries, Museums, and Archives Committee; both the sub-committee and the parent committee have had as chairman Mr. J. N. Banbury from 1974 until 1981 and thereafter Baron E. J. C. R. von Maltzahn.

Although some parts of the volume were started in the 1960s, much the greater proportion of the research and writing, together with a comprehensive revision of what had been written earlier, was done in the years 1979, 1980, and 1981. The help of many institutions and private persons who gave information or advice, or granted access to their houses or to documents in their care, is acknowledged with gratitude. In most instances they are mentioned in footnotes to the relevant passages, and others are named in the preamble to the list of illustrations, but it is right to offer here special thanks for wide-ranging help from Bodley's Librarian and the staff of the Bodleian Library, the Oxfordshire County Archivist and her staff, the Librarian and staff of Oxfordshire County Libraries, the Director and staff of Oxfordshire County Museum Services, the Bishop and the Dean and Chapter of Lincoln, the Dean and Chapter of Windsor, the Church Commissioners, Birmingham Central Library, Northamptonshire County Record Office, National Westminster Bank Ltd., the governing bodies of Balliol, Brasenose, Christ Church, Corpus Christi, Exeter, Magdalen, New, and St. John's Colleges, Oxford, the local history societies of Tackley and Duns Tew, the Duke of Marlborough, Dr. Julian Barbour, Mr. T. Cottrell-Dormer, Mrs. A. V. Fitt, Mr. M. J. Hallam, Mrs. L. Hichens, Miss E. Hunter, Mr. J. M. Johnston, Mrs. Cynthia Laws, Sir Ashley Ponsonby, Mr. G. Powell, the late Sir George Schuster, Mr. Geoffrey Stevenson, Col. A. D. Taylor, Mr. J. Taylor, and Mr. E. W. Towler.