Victoria County History - Essex

Founded in 1899 and originally dedicated to Queen Victoria, the Victoria County History (VCH) is an encyclopaedic record of England's places and people from earliest times to the present day. It has been described as the greatest publishing project in English local history. This series describes the history of the county of Essex - do also see the VCH Essex page on the IHR website for more information.


Displaying 1 - 8 of 8
A History of the County of Essex: Volume 5
Provides a thematic account of the growth of metropolitan Essex since 1850. Also contains topographical accounts of Barking, Ilford, Dagenham and other areas of Essex now within greater London.
A History of the County of Essex: Volume 6
Includes parishes of Becontree hundred now within the London boroughs of Newham, Waltham Forest and Redbridge. These include West and East Ham, Walthamstow and Wanstead. The rest of the hundred is treated in volume 5.
A History of the County of Essex: Volume 7
Covers the ancient parishes, formerly within the liberty of Havering-atte-Bower and now within the London borough of Havering, and those in Chafford hundred in western Essex now bordering London. It includes accounts of Hornchurch, Romford, Havering and Rainham.
Displaying 1 - 8 of 8