Victoria County History - Gloucestershire

Founded in 1899 and originally dedicated to Queen Victoria, the Victoria County History (VCH) is an encyclopaedic record of England's places and people from earliest times to the present day. It has been described as the greatest publishing project in English local history. This series describes the history of the county of Gloucestershire - do also see the VCH Gloucestershire page on the IHR website for more information.


Displaying 1 - 10 of 10
A History of the County of Gloucester: Volume 12
This volume covers a part of north-west Gloucestershire with the town of Newent at its centre. Ten ancient parishes are treated: Bromesberrow, Dymock, Huntley, Kempley, Longhope, Newent, Oxenhall, Pauntley, Preston and Taynton.
A History of the County of Gloucester: Volume 6
The history of the parishes of Slaughter hundred, and the upper divisions of Tewkesbury and Westminster hundreds, all in the eastern part of the county. The volumes includes accounts of the parishes of Bourton-on-the-Water and Stow-on-the-Wold.
A History of the County of Gloucester: Volume 7
This volume contains the histories of the 22 parishes in the hundreds of Brightwells Barrow and Rapsgate, extending from the Cotswold escarpment above Gloucester to the Thames at Lechlade and including much of the Churn, Coln, and Leach valleys.
A History of the County of Gloucester: Volume 8
Histories of the parishes of the hundreds of Cleeve, Deerhurst and Tibblestone, and the lower divisions of the hundreds of Tewkesbury and Westminster. The volumes includes an account of the borough of Tewkesbury.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10