A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 5

Edited by William Farrer and J Brownbill. Continues the account of Salford hundred begun in volume 4. It includes accounts of the parishes of Bury, Bolton-le-Moors, Prestwich-with-Oldham and Rochdale.

Victoria County History - Lancaster. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1911.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


Table of contents

Title Page(s)
List of maps xii
Editorial note xiii
Salford hundred: The parish of Deane 1-5
Townships: Rumworth 6
Townships: Horwich 6-9
Townships: Heaton 9-12
Townships: Halliwell 12-20
Townships: Westhoughton 20-25
Townships: Little, Middle and Over Hulton 25-34
Townships: Farnworth 34-39
Townships: Kearsley 39-41
The parish of Flixton 42-45
Townships: Flixton 46-50
Townships: Urmston 50-56
The parish of Radcliffe 56-67
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham 67-76
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Prestwich 76-80
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Great and Little Heaton 80-82
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Alkrington 82-85
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Tonge 85-87
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Pilkington 88-92
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Oldham 92-108
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Crompton 108-112
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Royton 112-115
The parish of Prestwich with Oldham: Chadderton 115-121
The parish of Bury 122-128
Townships: Bury 128-133
Townships: Elton 133-136
Townships: Heap 136-141
Townships: Walmersley-with-Shuttleworth 141-143
Townships: Tottington 143-150
Townships: Musbury 150
Townships: Cowpe, Lench, Newhall, Hey and Hall Carr 150-151
The parish of Middleton 151-161
Townships: Middleton 161-169
Townships: Pilsworth 169-170
Townships: Hopwood 170-173
Townships: Thornham 173-174
Townships: Birtle-with-Bamford 174-176
Townships: Ashworth 176-180
Townships: Ainsworth 180-182
Townships: Great Lever 182-187
The parish of Rochdale 187-201
Townships: Castleton 201-206
Townships: Spotland 206-213
Townships: Butterworth 213-222
Townships: Hundersfield 222
Townships: Wuerdle and Wardle 222-225
Townships: Wardleworth 225-227
Townships: Blatchinworth and Calderbrook 227-229
Townships: Todmorden and Walsden 229-234
The parish of Bolton-le-Moors 235-243
Townships: Great Bolton 243-251
Townships: Little Bolton 251-255
Townships: Tonge-with-Haulgh 255-260
Townships: Sharples 260-262
Townships: Little and Darcy Lever 262-266
Townships: Breightmet 266-268
Townships: Harwood 268-270
Townships: Bradshaw 270-272
Townships: Turton 273-281
Townships: Edgeworth 281-282
Townships: Entwistle 282-284
Townships: Quarlton 284-285
Townships: Longworth 285-286
Townships: Rivington 286-294
Townships: Anglezarke 294-295
Townships: Lostock 295-299
Townships: Blackrod 299-303
Corrigenda to volumes 3, 4 and 5 409