A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 8

Covers Lonsdale hundred, the northernmost part of the historic county. To the north it includes the parishes of Cartmel, Hawkshead and Ulverston (now in Cumbria). Further south it covers the parish and city of Lancaster, and the rest of the county as far south as Cockerham, where the hundred bordered that of Amounderness (volume 7).

Victoria County History - Lancaster. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1914.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

Title Page(s)
List of maps xiv
Editorial note xv-xviii
Lonsdale hundred: Introduction and map 1-3
The parish of Lancaster (in Lonsdale hundred): General history and castle 4-22
The parish of Lancaster (in Lonsdale hundred): Church, advowson and charities 22-33
Townships: Lancaster 33-48
Townships: Aldcliffe 48-49
Townships: Bulk 49-50
Townships: Ashton with Stodday 50-56
Townships: Scotforth 56-58
Townships: Skerton 58-61
Townships: Overton 61-64
Townships: Poulton, Bare and Torrisholme 64-69
Townships: Heaton with Oxcliffe 69-72
Townships: Middleton 72-74
Townships: Quernmore 74-76
Townships: Over Wyresdale 76-79
Townships: Caton 79-85
Townships: Gressingham 85-89
The parish of Cockerham 89-93
Townships: Cockerham 93-96
Townships: Ellel 96-101
Townships: Thurnham 101-105
Cockersand Abbey 105-106
Townships: Forton 106-108
Townships: Cleveley 108-109
The parish of Heysham 109-118
The parish of Halton 118-126
The parish of Bolton-le-Sands 126-132
Townships: Bolton-le-Sands 132-136
Townships: Slyne-with-Hest 136-139
Townships: Nether Kellet 139-140
Townships: Over Kellet 140-151
The parish of Warton 151-161
Townships: Warton with Lindeth 161-165
Townships: Carnforth 165-170
Townships: Borwick 170-175
Townships: Yealand Redmayne 175-177
Townships: Yealand Conyers 177-180
Townships: Silverdale 180-182
Townships: Priest Hutton 182-183
The parish of Burton in Kendal: Dalton 183-185
The parish of Melling 186-191
Townships: Hornby 191-201
Townships: Farleton 201-203
Townships: Melling with Wrayton 203-204
Townships: Arkholme with Cawood 204-206
Townships: Wennington 207-209
Townships: Roeburndale 209
Townships: Wray with Botton 209-210
The parish of Claughton 210-217
The parish of Tatham 217-225
The parish of Tunstall 225-230
Townships: Tunstall 231
Townships: Cantsfield 232-237
Townships: Burrow with Burrow 238-240
Townships: Leck 240-241
The parish of Whittington 241-252
The parish of Thornton (part): Ireby 252-253
The parish of Cartmell 254-265
Townships: Lower Allithwaite 265-268
Townships: Upper Allithwaite 268-270
Townships: Lower Holker 270-276
Townships: Upper Holker 276-278
Townships: Broughton 278-281
Townships: Staveley 281
Townships: Cartmel Fell 281-285
The parish of Furness 285-304
The parish of Dalton 304-319
The parish of Aldingham 320-328
The parish of Urswick 328-338
The parish of Pennington 338-342
The parish of Ulverston 342-348
Townships: Ulverston 348-356
Townships: Mansriggs 356-357
Townships: Osmotherley 357
Townships: Subberthwaite 357-358
Townships: Egton with Newland 358-360
Townships: Lowick 360-362
Townships: Blawith 362-363
Townships: Torver 363-365
Townships: Church Coniston 365-369
The parish of Hawkshead 370-376
Townships: Hawkshead and Monks Coniston 376-380
Townships: Claife 380
Townships: Satterthwaite 380-382
The parish of Colton 383-387
The parish of Kirkby Ireleth 387-392
Townships: Kirkby Ireleth 392-400
Townships: Broughton 400-406
Townships: Dunnerton with Seathwaite 406-408
Angerton Moss 408-409
Index: A-K 411-432
Index: L-Z 432-451
Corrigenda 453-454