A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 3

The local history of most of Merseyside east of the Mersey, from Sefton in the north to Speke in the south, and including Warrington, Widnes and Ormskirk. The City of Liverpool itself is covered separately in volume 4.

Victoria County History - Lancaster. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1907.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


, 'A History of the County of Lancaster', in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 3, (London, 1907). British History Online https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol3 [accessed 27 May 2024].

. "A History of the County of Lancaster", in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 3, (London, 1907). British History Online, accessed May 27, 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol3.

. "A History of the County of Lancaster", in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 3, (London, 1907), British History Online. Web. 27 May 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol3.

Table of Contents

Title Page(s)
Index of parishes, townships & manors xi-xii
List of maps xiv
Editorial note xv
Map of the hundreds of Lancashire xviii
Hundred of West Derby: Introduction 1-4
The parish of Walton on the Hill: Introduction, church and charities 5-11
Townships: West Derby 11-19
Townships: Everton 20-22
Townships: Walton 22-28
Townships: Fazakerley 28-31
Townships: Bootle 31-35
Townships: Kirkdale 35-40
Townships: Toxteth Park 40-45
Townships: Formby 45-52
Townships: Kirkby 52-56
Townships: Simonswood 56-57
The parish of Sefton: Introduction, church and charities 58-66
Townships: Sefton 66-74
Townships: Netherton 74-75
Townships: Lunt 75-76
Townships: Thornton 76-78
Townships: Ince Blundell 78-85
Townships: Little Crosby 85-91
Townships: Great Crosby 91-95
Townships: Litherland 95-98
Townships: Orrell and Ford 99
Townships: Aintree 99-101
The parish of Childwall: Introduction, church and charities 102-108
Townships: Childwall 108-111
Townships: Wavertree 111-112
Townships: Thingwall 112-113
Townships: Much Woolton 113-117
Townships: Little Woolton 117-120
Townships: Garston 120-128
Townships: Allerton 128-131
Townships: Speke 131-140
Townships: Hale 140-149
Townships: Halewood 149-151
The parish of Huyton: Introduction, church and charities 151-157
Townships: Knowsley 157-168
Townships: Huyton with Roby 168-176
Townships: Tarbock 176-182
Townships: Croxteth Park 182
The parish of Halsall: Introduction, church and charities 183-191
Townships: Halsall 191-197
Townships: Downholland 197-200
Townships: Lydiate 200-208
Townships: Melling 208-215
Townships: Maghull 215-221
The parish and township of Altcar 221-226
The parish of North Meols: Introduction, church and charities 226-229
Townships: North Meols 230-236
Townships: Birkdale 236-238
The parish of Ormskirk: Introduction, church and charities 238-246
Townships: Lathom 247-258
Townships: Burscough 258-260
Townships: Ormskirk 261-264
Townships: Scarisbrick 265-276
Townships: Bickerstaffe 276-282
Townships: Skelmersdale 282-284
The parish and township of Aughton: Introduction and church 284-291
The parish and township of Aughton: Manors 292-304
The parish of Warrington: Introduction, church and charities 304-316
Townships: Warrington 316-324
Townships: Burtonwood 324-328
Townships: Poulton with Fearnhead 328-331
Townships: Woolston with Martinscroft 331-334
Townships: Rixton with Glazebrook 334-340
The parish of Prescot: Introduction, church and charities 341-348
Townships: Whiston 348-352
Townships: Prescot 353-354
Townships: Sutton 354-362
Townships: Eccleston 362-367
Townships: Rainhill 368-371
Townships: Windle 371-377
Townships: Parr 377-382
Townships: Rainford 382-386
Townships: Widnes 386-392
Townships: Cronton 392-394
Townships: Cuerdley 394-395
Townships: Ditton 395-402
Townships: Bold 402-409
Townships: Great Sankey 409-410
Townships: Penketh 410-413
The parish of Leigh: Introduction, church and charities 413-421
Townships: Westleigh 421-426
Townships: Pennington 426-431
Townships: Bedford 431-435
Townships: Atherton 435-439
Townships: Tyldesley with Shakerley 439-445
Townships: Astley 445-449