A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 7

This volume is mostly taken up with the history of Amounderness hundred, lying north of the Ribble and south of Lonsdale. It covers the coastal town of Lytham, as well as giving an account of major towns including Preston and Garstang. It also concludes the account of Blackburn hundred, mostly covered in volume 6, including the parishes of Ribchester and Chipping.

Victoria County History - Lancaster. Originally published by Victoria County History, London, 1912.

This free content was digitised by double rekeying. All rights reserved.


, 'A History of the County of Lancaster', in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 7, (London, 1912). British History Online https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol7 [accessed 18 May 2024].

. "A History of the County of Lancaster", in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 7, (London, 1912). British History Online, accessed May 18, 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol7.

. "A History of the County of Lancaster", in A History of the County of Lancaster: Volume 7, (London, 1912), British History Online. Web. 18 May 2024, https://www.british-history.ac.uk/vch/lancs/vol7.

Table of Contents

Title Page(s)
List of maps xii
Editorial note xiii
Blackburn hundred: Mitton 1-20
The parish of Chipping 20-26
Townships: Chipping 26-32
Townships: Thornley with Wheatley 32-36
The parish of Ribchester 36-44
Townships: Ribchester 45-51
Townships: Dilworth 51-54
Townships: Dutton 54-61
Townships: Alston with Hothersall 61-67
Amounderness hundred: Introduction and map 68-71
The parish of Preston 72-91
Townships: Preston 91-105
Townships: Ribbleton 105-108
Townships: Grimsargh and Brockholes 108-113
Townships: Elston 113-115
Townships: Fishwick 115-117
Townships: Broughton 117-124
Townships: Haighton 124-127
Townships: Barton 127-128
Townships: Lea, Ashton, Ingol and Cottam 129-137
The parish of Lancaster: Fulwood 137-138
Townships: Myerscough 138-141
Townships: Bleasdale 141-142
The parish of Kirkham 143-150
Townships: Kirkham 150-153
Townships: Medlar-with-Wesham 153-157
Townships: Ribby-with-Wrea 157-158
Townships: Bryning-with-Kellamergh 159-161
Townships: Clifton-with-Salwick 161-165
Townships: Newton-with-Scales 165-167
Townships: Freckleton 167-171
Townships: Warton 171-174
Townships: Westby-with-Plumptons 174-176
Townships: Weeton-with-Preese 176-178
Townships: Treales, Roseacre and Wharles 178-179
Townships: Greenhalgh-with-Thistleton 179-181
Townships: Little Eccleston-with-Larbreck 181-183
Townships: Singleton 183-188
Townships: Hambleton 188-190
Townships: Goosnargh 190-206
Townships: Whittingham 207-213
Lytham 213-219
The parish of Poulton-le-Fylde 219-225
Townships: Poulton 225-228
Townships: Carleton 228-231
Townships: Thornton 231-237
Townships: Hardhorn-with-Newton 238-239
Townships: Marton 239-242
The parish of Bispham 242-246
Townships: Bispham with Norbreck 246-247
Townships: Layton with Warbreck 247-251
The parish of Lancaster: Stalmine with Staynall 251-256
Townships: Preesall with Hackinsall 256-260
The parish of St Michael-on-Wyre 260-267
Townships: Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre 267-273
Townships: Out Rawcliffe 273-276
Townships: Great Eccleston 276-279
Townships: Inskip with Sowerby 279-282
Townships: Elswick 282-284
Townships: Woodplumpton 284-291
The parish of Garstang 291-300
Townships: Nether Wyresdale 300-305
Townships: Holleth, Cleveley and Cabus 305
Townships: Winmarleigh 305-308
Townships: Nateby 308-311
Townships: Garstang 311-313
Townships: Kirkland 313-315
Townships: Barnacre-with-Bonds 315-320
Townships: Catterall 320-324
Townships: Claughton 324-330
Townships: Bilsborrow 330-332
Townships: Pillling 332-335
Corrigenda to volumes VI and VII 435